2021 Philosopher’s Annual




Philosopher’s Annual has released its 41st volume, covering the literature from 2021.

The publication aims to “select the ten best articles published in philosophy each year—an attempt as simple to state as it is admittedly impossible to fulfill.”

Geoff Myers, “Black + White Numbers”

The selections of the editors of Philosopher’s Annual, based on suggestions from its nominating editors, are:

Louis deRosset, “Hollow Truth,” from the Philosophical Review

J. Dmitri Gallow, “A Model-Invariant Theory of Causation,” from the Philosophical Review

Alan Hájek and Wlodek Rabinowicz, “Degrees of Commensurability and the Repugnant Conclusion,” from Noûs

Tom Hurka, “Against ‘Good For’/’Well-Being’, For ‘Simply Good’,” from the Philosophical Quarterly

Matthew Mandelkern, “If P, Then P!” from the Journal of Philosophy

Stephen Menn, “Aristotle on the Many Senses of Being,” from Oxford Studies in Ancient Philosophy

Shyam Nair, “‘Adding Up’ Reasons: Lessons for Reductive and Nonreductive Approaches,” from Ethics

Theron Pummer, “Impermissible yet Praiseworthy,” from Ethics

Una Stojnić, “Just Words: Intentions, Tolerance and Lexical Selection,” from Philosophy and Phenomenological Research

Monique Wonderly, “Forgiving, Committing, and Un-forgiving,” from Philosophy and Phenomenological Research

The editors of Philosopher’s Annual are Patrick Grim (Center for the Study of Complex Systems, University of Michigan; Philosophy, Stony Brook), Abdulwausay Ansari, Margot Witte, and Lianghua (Glenn) Zhou (University of Michigan).

The nominating editors for this round were: Jc Beall, Ned Block, Ben Bradley, Liam Kofi Bright, Lara Buchak, Tyler Burge, Victor Caston, David Chalmers, Andrew Chignell, Roger Crisp, Cian Dorr, Adam Elga, Iskra Fileva, Branden Fitelson, Graeme Forbes, Aaron Garrett, Michael Glanzberg, Alexander Guerrero, Alan Hajek, Ned Hall, Elizabeth Harman, Gary Hatfield, Benj Hellie, Christopher Hitchcock, Des Hogan, Simon Huttegger, Simon Keller, Tom Kelly, Niko Kolodny, Jennifer Lackey, Marc Lange, Brian Leiter, Ernie Lepore, Neil Levy, Martin Lin, John Marenbon, Colin McLarty, Jeff McMahan, Shaun Nichols, Paul Noordhof, Graham Oddie, Rohit Parikh, Derk Pereboom, Richard Pettigrew, Duncan Pritchard, Theron Pummer, Greg Restall, Geoffrey Sayre-McCord, Barry Schein, Mark Schroeder, Laura Schroeter, Stewart Shapiro, Ted Sider, Scott Soames, Roy Sorensen, Quayshawn Spencer, Katie Steele, Una Stojnik, Eric Swanson, Johan van Benthem, Mark van Roojen, Sergio Tenenbaum, Peter B. M. Vranas, Eric Watkins, Danielle Wenner, Gideon Yaffe, Jose Zalabardo, and Kevin Zollman.

You can view previous editions of Philosopher’s Annual here.

(via Patrick Grim)



Originally appeared on Daily Nous Read More