38th International Meeting of the Eric Voegelin Society
38th International Meeting of THE ERIC VOEGELIN SOCIETY American Political Science Association Meeting September 15-18, 2022 Montréal, Québec, CANADA   Friends, Here is the final version of our program with changes up to the beginning of September.  I look forward to seeing you as we gather and return to more convivial exchanges than we have… The post 38th International Meeting of the Eric Voegelin Society appeared first on VoegelinView.

Date

source

share

38th International Meeting of THE ERIC VOEGELIN SOCIETY

American Political Science Association Meeting

September 15-18, 2022

Montréal, Québec, CANADA

 

Friends,
Here is the final version of our program with changes up to the beginning of September.  I look forward to seeing you as we gather and return to more convivial exchanges than we have enjoyed in recent years.  Please email your papers to fellow panelists. It is especially important that discussants have adequate time to contemplate your work.  I would also appreciate receiving copies, as would Jim Stoner (poston@lsu.edu) who maintains a Society record at the Eric Voegelin Institute.  Please continue to update me with any further changes.  I remind you of our Business Meeting on Saturday morning and reception that evening, as well as the importance of supporting one another’s panels as best you can. Your generosity in support of VOEGELINVIEW is kindly directed to our donate button found here, or you may contact our treasurer, David Whitney, david.whitney@nicholls.edu. You should also indicate EVS as your preferred Related Group when you renew your APSA membership and register for the meeting. Your support allows for the safeguarding and continued promotion of all the material archived on the journal’s site. I also look forward to putting COVID behind us and, as mentioned, returning to the friendship and social joy we have shared before the pandemic began.
David Walsh, walshd@cua.edu

 

Thursday, September 15: Palais, 512H

8:00-9:30

Panel 1: Encounters and Experiences as a Source of Order

 

Chair: Dennis Coyle, Coyle@law.edu; The Catholic University of America
Henry and Lionel: An Argument in the Metaxy
Abigail L. Rosenthal, alr.martin@verizon.net; Brooklyn College of the City of New York
Taking William James Seriously
Jerry L. Martin, jerry.martin@verizon.net;  University of Colorado at Boulder
Theophanic Experience as Recognition: Miguel de Unamuno’s Recovery of the Person
Enrique Pallares, epallaresh@gmail.com; Catholic University of America
Discussants: Thomas Heilke, thomas.heilke@ubc.ca, University of British Columbia
Dennis Coyle, Coyle@law.edu; The Catholic University of America

12:00-1:30: Palais, 512H

Panel 2: Eric Voegelin, Comparative Political Theory, and Equivalences of Experience

 

Chair: Barry Cooper, bcooper@ucalgary.ca
What is Political Theology: The Meaning and Legitimacy of a Political Concept
Eduardo Schmidt Passos, 69passos@cua.edu; University of Wisconsin-Madison
Understanding Another: Voegelin’s Comparative Political Theory
Holly E. Ching, heching@wisc.edu; University of Wisconsin-Madison
The History of Experience
Wolfgang Leidhold, wolfgang.leidhold@uni-koeln.de, University of Cologne
 
How Political Scientists Can Read Text
Lee Trepanier, ltrepani@samford.edu, Samford University
Discussants: Barry Cooper, bcooper@ucalgary.ca
Geoffrey Sigalet, geoffrey.sigalet@ubc.ca; McGill University

2:00-3:30: Palais, 512H                                                                                                                                      

Panel 3: Liberalism, Nation, and Modern Techne in George Grant


Chair: Tyler Chamberlain, Trinity Western University tyler.chamberlain@twu.edu

“George Grant and the return of the nation”
Scott Staring, scott.staring@gmail.com, Georgia

George Grant’s Platonist Critique of the American Technological Republic
Jeremy Seth Geddert, j.geddert@assumption.edu,  Assumption University

Grant, Anglo-Canadian Toryism and the deep critique of liberal modernity
Nathan Cockerham, University of British Columbia, Nrcockerham86@gmail.com

“Grant, Fukuyama, and the Abyss at the End of History”
Andrew Potter, McGill University; Andrew2.Potter@mcgill.ca

 Discussants: Ben Woodfinden, McGill University, benwoodfinden@hotmail.com
Jeremy Seth Geddert, j.geddert@assumption.edu,  Assumption University

4:00-5:30: Palais, 512H                                                                                                        

Panel 4: Freedom, Empire, and Tyranny: Foreign and Domestic

 

Chair: Eric Fleury, Connecticut College; efleury@conncoll.edu
It Was Conservative Hegemony All Along: Ideological Sources of US Grand Strategy
Eric Fleury, Connecticut College; efleury@conncoll.edu
Freedom and Empire in the Education of Cyrus
Christopher Ruiz, Baylor University; Christopher_Ruiz@baylor.edu
Empire and Freedom in Shakespeare’s Rape of Lucrece and Antony and Cleopatra
Catherine Craig, Arizona State University; Catherine_Craig1@baylor.edu
Fear and Loathing in France: How Disillusioned Liberalism May be the Most Humane
Dennis Coyle, The Catholic University of America, coyle@law.edu
Discussant: Eric Fleury, Connecticut College; efleury@conncoll.edu

Friday, September 16   Palais, 512D

8:00-9:30

Panel 5: Persons and the Form of Friendship in a time of Polarization

 

Chair: Steven McGuire, sfmcguire@gmail.com; Villanova University
Homologia and the Heuristics of Political Love
James Greenaway, jgreenaway@stmarytx.edu; St. Mary’s University
Simone Weil on Collectivities: The Person in Politics
Dunford Sarah E Dunford, dunford@cua.edu; Catholic University of America
The How of Order: Eric Voegelin and Martin Heidegger on the Anaximander Fragment
Thomas Wayne Holman, TWH9991@GMAIL.COM; Catholic University of America
Discussant: Steven McGuire, sfmcguire@gmail.com; Villanova University

 

12:00-1:30: Palais, 512 D

Panel 6:  Divinization of Politics – Politicization of Religion

 

Chair: Thierry Gontier, thierry.gontier@gmail.com; University of Jean Moulin – Lyon 3
Radicalization and Immanentization: Questioning Eric Voegelin’s Conceptual Apparatus Suitability on Contemporary Radicalization
Jane Cluzeau, jane.cluzeau@univ-lyon.3fr; University of Jean Moulin – Lyon 3
Divinization of Thought: Can We Definitely Oppose Rawls to Voegelin?
Pierre-Alain Drien, pierre-alain.drien@wanadoo.fr;  University of Jean Moulin – Lyon 3
Political Theology: Legitimizing Authority after Secularization
Bruno Godefroy, bruno.godefroy@gmx.de; Erlangen
Christianity as Civil Theology? Erik Peterson and Eric Voegelin
Thierry Gontier, thierry.gontier@gmail.com; University of Jean Moulin – Lyon 3
Discussants: Dennis Coyle, Coyle@law.edu; The Catholic University of America
Bohan Yan, bohan.yan@ens-lyon.fr; Ecole Normal Supérieur de Lyons

 

2:00-3:30: Palais, 515C

Panel 7: Principles of Dissidence Against Totalitarianism: Europe and Beyond

 

Chair: Richard Avramenko, avramenko@wisc.edu; University of Wisconsin-Madison
In the Words of Liu Xiaobo: Wisdom comes through suffering
John McNerney, john.mcnerney@ucd.ie; Catholic University of America
Post-Totalitarian Reconstruction: The Case of Venezuela
Francisco Plaza, Francisco_plaza@pba.edu; Palm Beach Atlantic University
Self-Giving and the Constitution of Political Order
John von Heyking, vonheyking@uleth.ca; University of Lethbridge
“The Cloven Hoof Under the Cassock: Desecration and Self-Giving in Roger Scruton”
Christopher S. Morrissey, Chris.Morrissey@twu; Trinity Western University
 
 Discussants: Flagg Taylor, ftaylore@skidmore.edu; Skidmore College,
David Walsh, walshd@cua.edu; Catholic University of America

 

4:00-5:30: Palais, 512D

Panel 8: Voegelin in His Time and Ours

 

Chair: David Walsh, walshd@cua.edu; Catholic University of America
A Comparison of Gadamer’s and Voegelin’s autobiographical exercises
Ferenc Hörcher,  horcherferenc2@gmail.com
Eric Voegelin and Albert Camus: A Comparison of Two Philosophers of History
Harald Bergbauer, dr.hb@web.de; University of Applied Sciences Munich
The “New Science of Politics,” Gnosticism, and the Exegesis of Our World Today
Micah Harris, harrismh@cua.edu; Catholic University of America
Discussant: Lee Trepanier, ltrepani@samford.edu, Samford University

Saturday, September 17                                                      

Business Meeting, 7:00-8:00 am: Palais, 516 C

8:00-9:30: Palais, 514C

Panel 9: Stress and Strain within Liberal Democracy                   

 

Chair: Thomas Heilke, thomas.heilke@ubc.ca, University of British Columbia
Virtue and the Politics of Pluralism in the Thought of Jacques Maritain
Waldorf, sdwaldorf@gmail.com,  University of Chicago
Messianic Trumpism and Woke Evangelicalism: Emergent Political Religions
Paul Corey, paul.corey@humber.ca; Humber College
Unfiltered Democracy: Alexis de Tocqueville and the Sovereignty of the People
Kirstin Anderson, keanderson32@wisc.edu; University of Wisconsin-Madison
David Walsh and Liberalism
Thomas E. Lordan, tomlordan@q.com; Independent scholar
Discussant: Thomas Heilke, thomas.heilke@ubc.ca, University of British Columbia

 

 

10:00-11:30: Palais, 512H

Panel 10: Political Philosophy in a Pandemic: Albert Camus’ Plague

 

Chair: Bjorn Thomassen, bthomas@ruc.dk; Roskilde University
Plagues and Pandemics in a Technological World: A Reading of Camus’ Plague
Ron Srigley, rsrigley@upei.ca; University of Prince Edward Island
Physical, Metaphysical, Political: the Plague in Thucydides, Lucretius and Camus
Matthew Sharpe, msharpe@deakin.edu.au; Deakin University
The Significance of Gluck’s Orphée et Eurydice in Camus’ Plague
Zdravko Planinc, planincz@mcmaster.ca; McMaster University
Freedom of Speech as a Virtue in Mill and Kant
Steven McGuire, sfmcguire@gmail.com; Villanova University
Discussants: William Tilleczek tilleczek@g.harvard, Harvard University;
Bjorn Thomassen, bthomas@ruc.dk; Roskilde University

12:00-1:30: Palais, 523A

Panel 11: Rights and Dignity in the Modern Project

 

Chair: Michael Nafi, mwnafi@gmail.com; John Abbott College
Modernity’s Paradoxical Celebration and Destruction of the “Person.”
Grant Havers, havers@twu.edu; Trinity Western University
Dignity, Civility, and the Truth: Political Reality and Political Rhetoric
Henrik Syse, syse@prio.org; Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)
Inherent Dignity and Political Respect
Glenn Hughes, drchiptex@gmail.com; St. Mary’s University
The Ubiquitous Mirror of Artificial Intelligence: Symbolism, Science, and Myth
Micheal Ziegler, michaelziegler@uvic.ca; University of Victoria,
Discussant: Michael Nafi, mwnafi@gmail.com; John Abbott College

 

 

2:00-3:30: Palais, 512H

Panel 12: Principles of Dissidence Against European Totalitarianism

 

Chair: John von Heyking, vonheyking@uleth.ca; University of Lethbridge
The debate on totalitarianism in 2022 – a Central European Perspective
Martin Palouš, martin.palous@gmail.com; Florida International University
Facing the Absurd: Václav Havel’s Plays
Flagg Taylor, ftaylor@skidmore.edu;  Skidmore College
“Resistance to the Lie, Care of the Soul, and the Rebirth of the Polis
Daniel J. Mahoney, dmahoney@assumption.edu; Assumption University
Discussants: Francisco Plaza, Francisco_plaza@pba.edu; Palm Beach Atlantic University
James Greenaway, jgreenaway@stmarytx.edu; St. Mary’s University

 

Saturday 7:30-9:00pm

Reception: Westin, Ville Marie A

Sunday, September 18

8:00-9:30: Palais, 512F

Panel 13:  Reconsiderations of the Greeks

 

Chair: John von Heyking, vonheyking@uleth.ca; University of Lethbridge
Voegelin’s Unusual Account of Ancient Greek Anamnesis
Michael Nafi, John Abbott College
“Dialectic of the Cosmos and the Order of the Soul in Plato’s Laws,”
Mark Sinnett, Mark.Sinnett@sjc.edu, St. John’s College, Annapolis
“Plato’s Menexenus: Eulogy for the True Defender of the Polis
McPartland, T_mcpartland@msn.com, Kentucky State University
Plato on the Virtue of the Small Life
Thomas David Bunting, tbunting@wisc.edu; Shawnee State University
Discussants: John von Heyking, vonheyking@uleth.ca; University of Lethbridge
Barry Cooper, bcooper@calgary.edu; University of Calgary

The post 38th International Meeting of the Eric Voegelin Society appeared first on VoegelinView.

Originally appeared on VoegelinView Read More

More
articles

More
news