share
38th International Meeting of the Eric Voegelin Society
38th International Meeting of THE ERIC VOEGELIN SOCIETY American Political Science Association Meeting September 15-18, 2022 Montréal, Québec, CANADA   Friends, I look forward to seeing you at our annual meeting in September as we visit our Canadian neighbors in beautiful Montréal.  This is the first fully in person meeting of our host, APSA, who… The post 38th International Meeting of the Eric Voegelin Society appeared first on VoegelinView.

Date

source

share

38th International Meeting of THE ERIC VOEGELIN SOCIETY

American Political Science Association Meeting

September 15-18, 2022

Montréal, Québec, CANADA

 

Friends,
I look forward to seeing you at our annual meeting in September as we visit our Canadian neighbors in beautiful Montréal.  This is the first fully in person meeting of our host, APSA, who welcome us to a “post-pandemic political science.” Of course they caution that we remain under the supervision of the Canadian government whose regulations should be monitored by attendees. Thank you for your submissions and proposals which demonstrate that, whatever the state of politics, its study continues in robust health.  It is a testament to your creative scholarship that the Eric Voegelin Society has been able to field the full array of panels we have been allocated. We can only hope that some of the vibrancy and engagement of your discussions will begin to remediate the battered polities we severally inhabit. Please continue to update me with any changes we need to make to the program which will be posted on VOEGELINVIEW. Like many things that come to us for free, VOEGELINVIEW is not actually free and neither is the expenses related to our academic society. Without the demand of dues to part of our association, we rely on your generosity; please consider making a donation for the journal’s continued existence and expansion, which can be found here; or you may contact our treasurer, David Whitney, david.whitney@nicholls.edu, if you wish to give to the Eric Voegelin Society. You should also indicate EVS as your preferred Related Group when you renew your APSA membership and register for the meeting.
David Walsh, walshd@cua.edu

 

 

Thursday, September 15

8:00-9:30

Panel 1: Encounters and Experiences as a Source of Order

Chair: Dennis Coyle, Coyle@law.edu; The Catholic University of America

 

Henry and Lionel: An Argument in the Metaxy

Abigail L. Rosenthal, alr.martin@verizon.net; Brooklyn College of the City of New York

 

Taking William James Seriously

Jerry L. Martin, jerry.martin@verizon.net;  University of Colorado at Boulder

 

 

Socio-Political Crisis and Transcendent Order in Burke

William F. Byrne, byrnew@stjohns.edu; St. John’s University

 

Ontological Anxiety: Voegelin and Kierkegaard on Consciousness

Joshua Harrison Ayer, joshua.ayer@yahoo.com; University of British Columbia

 

Discussants: Thomas Heilke, thomas.heilke@ubc.ca, University of British Columbia

Dennis Coyle, Coyle@law.edu; The Catholic University of America

 

 

12:00-1:30

Panel 2: Eric Voegelin, Comparative Political Theory, and Equivalences of Experience

Chair: Barry Cooper, bcooper@ucalgary.ca

What is Political Theology: The Meaning and Legitimacy of a Political Concept

Eduardo Schmidt Passos, 69passos@cua.edu; University of Wisconsin-Madison

 

Understanding Another: Voegelin’s Comparative Political Theory

Holly E. Ching, heching@wisc.edu; University of Wisconsin-Madison

 

The History of Experience

Wolfgang Leidhold, wolfgang.leidhold@uni-koeln.de, University of Cologne

 

How Political Scientists Can Read Text

Lee Trepanier, ltrepani@samford.edu, Samford University

 

Discussants: Barry Cooper, bcooper@ucalgary.ca

Geoffrey Sigalet, geoffrey.sigalet@ubc.ca; McGill University

 

 

2:00-3:30

Panel 3: Liberalism, Nation, and Modern Techne in George Grant

Chair: Tyler Chamberlain, Trinity Western University tyler.chamberlain@twu.edu

 

“George Grant and the return of the nation”

Scott Staring, scott.staring@gmail.com, Georgia

 

George Grant’s Platonist Critique of the American Technological Republic

Jeremy Seth Geddert, j.geddert@assumption.edu,  Assumption University

 

Grant, Anglo-Canadian Toryism and the deep critique of liberal modernity

Nathan Cockerham, University of British Columbia, Nrcockerham86@gmail.com

 

“Grant, Fukuyama, and the Abyss at the End of History”

Andrew Potter, McGill University; Andrew2.Potter@mcgill.ca

 

Discussants: Ben Woodfinden, McGill University, benwoodfinden@hotmail.com

Jeremy Seth Geddert, j.geddert@assumption.edu,  Assumption University

 

 

4:00-5:30

Panel 4: Freedom, Empire, and Tyranny: Foreign and Domestic

Chair: David Clinton, Baylor University; David_Clinton@baylor.edu

 

It Was Conservative Hegemony All Along: Ideological Sources of US Grand Strategy

Eric Fleury, Connecticut College; efleury@conncoll.edu

 

Freedom and Empire in the Education of Cyrus

Christopher Ruiz, Baylor University; Christopher_Ruiz@baylor.edu

 

Empire and Freedom in Shakespeare’s Rape of Lucrece and Antony and Cleopatra

Catherine Craig, Arizona State University; Catherine_Craig1@baylor.edu

 

Fear and Loathing in France: How Disillusioned Liberalism May be the Most Humane

Dennis Coyle, The Catholic University of America, coyle@law.edu

 

Discussant: David Clinton (Baylor University) David_Clinton@baylor.edu

 

 

Friday, September 16

8:00-9:30

Panel 5: Persons and the Form of Friendship in a time of Polarization

Chair: Steven McGuire, sfmcguire@gmail.com; Villanova University

 

‘A World Not of Person’: Achieving Personhood in the Plays of T.S Eliot

Ian Tuttle, iptuttle4513@gmail.com; Catholic University of America

 

Homologia and the Heuristics of Political Love

James Greenaway, jgreenaway@stmarytx.edu; St. Mary’s University

 

Simone Weil on Collectivities: The Person in Politics

Dunford Sarah E Dunford, dunford@cua.edu; Catholic University of America

 

From Speech to Dialogue: Voegelin’s Requirements for Political Philia

Thomas Wayne Holman, TWH9991@GMAIL.COM; Catholic University of America

 

Discussant: Steven McGuire, sfmcguire@gmail.com; Villanova University

 

 

12:00-1:30

Panel 6:  Divinization of Politics – Politicization of Religion

Chair: Thierry Gontier, thierry.gontier@gmail.com; University of Jean Moulin – Lyon 3

 

Radicalization and Immanentization: Questioning Eric Voegelin’s Conceptual Apparatus Suitability on Contemporary Radicalization

Jane Cluzeau, jane.cluzeau@univ-lyon.3fr; University of Jean Moulin – Lyon 3

 

Divinization of Thought: Can We Definitely Oppose Rawls to Voegelin?

Pierre-Alain Drien: Pierre-Alain Drien, pierre-alain.drien@wanadoo.fr;  University of Jean Moulin – Lyon 3

 

Political Theology: Legitimizing Authority after Secularization

Bruno Godefroy. bruno.godefroy@gmx.de; Erlangen

 

Christianity as Civil Theology? Erik Peterson and Eric Voegelin

Thierry Gontier, thierry.gontier@gmail.com; University of Jean Moulin – Lyon 3

 

Discussants: Damien Chomette, Bohan Yan, bohan.yan@ens-lyon.fr; Ecole Normal Supérieur de Lyons

 

 

2:00-3:30

Panel 7: Principles of Dissidence Against Totalitarianism: Europe and Beyond

Chair: Richard Avramenko, avramenko@wisc.edu; University of Wisconsin-Madison

 

In the Words of Liu Xiaobo: Wisdom comes through suffering

John McNerney, john.mcnerney@ucd.ie; Catholic University of America

 

Post-Totalitarian Reconstruction: The Case of Venezuela

Francisco Plaza, Francisco_plaza@pba.edu; Palm Beach Atlantic University

 

Self-Giving and the Constitution of Political Order

John von Heyking, vonheyking@uleth.ca; University of Lethbridge

 

“The Cloven Hoof Under the Cassock: Desecration and Self-Giving in Roger Scruton”

Christopher S. Morrissey, Chris.Morrissey@twu; Trinity Western University

 

Discussants: Flagg Taylor, ftaylore@skidmore.edu; Skidmore College,

David Walsh, walshd@cua.edu; Catholic University of America

 

 

4:00-5:30

Panel 8: Voegelin in His Time and Ours

Chair: David Walsh, walshd@cua.edu; Catholic University of America

 

A Comparison of Gadamer’s and Voegelin’s autobiographical exercises

Ferenc Hörcher,  horcherferenc2@gmail.com

 

Eric Voegelin and Albert Camus: A Comparison of Two Philosophers of History

Harald Bergbauer, dr.hb@web.de; University of Applied Sciences Munich

 

The “New Science of Politics,” Gnosticism, and the Exegesis of Our World Today

Micah Harris, harrismh@cua.edu; Catholic University of America

 

Bruno Latour and Eric Voegelin: Did Voegelin know about the Anthropocene?

Mendo Henriques, mendohenriques@ucp.pt; The Catholic University of Portugal

 

 

 

 

Saturday, September 17                                                                         

Business Meeting: Palais, 516 C

7:00-8:00am                                                                      

 

 

8:00-9:30

Panel 9: Stress and Strain within Liberal Democracy

Chair: Thomas Heilke, thomas.heilke@ubc.ca, University of British Columbia

 

Virtue and the Politics of Pluralism in the Thought of Jacques Maritain

Waldorf, sdwaldorf@gmail.com,  University of Chicago

 

Messianic Trumpism and Woke Evangelicalism: Emergent Political Religions

Paul Corey, paul.corey@humber.ca; Humber College

 

Unfiltered Democracy: Alexis de Tocqueville and the Sovereignty of the People

Kirstin Anderson, keanderson32@wisc.edu; University of Wisconsin-Madison

 

Immanual Kant on the Relationship of Ethics to Law

Thomas E. Lordan, tomlordan@q.com; Independent scholar

 

Discussant: Thomas Heilke, thomas.heilke@ubc.ca, University of British Columbia

 

 

10:00-11:30

Panel 10: Political Philosophy in a Pandemic: Albert Camus’ Plague

Chair: Bjorn Thomassen, bthomas@ruc.dk; Roskilde University

 

Plagues and Pandemics in a Technological World: A Reading of Camus’ Plague

Ron Srigley, rsrigley@upei.ca; University of Prince Edward Island

 

Physical, Metaphysical, Political: the Plague in Thucydides, Lucretius and Camus

Matthew Sharpe, msharpe@deakin.edu.au; Deakin University

 

The Significance of Gluck’s Orphée et Eurydice in Camus’ Plague

Zdravko Planinc, planincz@mcmaster.ca; McMaster University

 

Freedom of Speech as a Virtue in Mill and Kant

Steven McGuire, sfmcguire@gmail.com; Villanova University

 

Discussants: William Tilleczek tilleczek@g.harvard, Harvard University;

Bjorn Thomassen, bthomas@ruc.dk; Roskilde University

 

 

 

12:00-1:30

Panel 11: Rights and Dignity in the Modern Project

Chair: Jeffrey Polet, polet@hope.edu; Hope College

 

Modernity’s Paradoxical Celebration and Destruction of the “Person.”

Grant Havers, havers@twu.edu; Trinity Western University

 

Dignity, Civility, and the Truth: Political Reality and Political Rhetoric

Henrik Syse, syse@prio.org; Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)

 

Inherent Dignity and Political Respect

Glenn Hughes, drchiptex@gmail.com; St. Mary’s University

 

The Ubiquitous Mirror of Artificial Intelligence: Symbolism, Science, and Myth

Micheal Ziegler, michaelziegler@uvic.ca; University of Victoria,

 

Discussant: Jeffrey Polet, polet@hope.edu; Hope College

 

2:00-3:30

Panel 12: Principles of Dissidence Against European Totalitarianism

Chair: John von Heyking, vonheyking@uleth.ca; University of Lethbridge

 

Jodi Bruhn, jbruhn@stratejuste.ca; Stratéjuste, Canada

Surviving Totalitarian Rule: The Option of Dissidence

 

The debate on totalitarianism in 2022 – a Central European Perspective

Martin Palouš, martin.palous@gmail.com; Florida International University

 

Facing the Absurd: Václav Havel’s Plays

Flagg Taylor, ftaylor@skidmore.edu;  Skidmore College

 

“Resistance to the Lie, Care of the Soul, and the Rebirth of the Polis

Daniel J. Mahoney, dmahoney@assumption.edu; Assumption University

 

Discussants: Francisco Plaza, Francisco_plaza@pba.edu; Palm Beach Atlantic University

James Greenaway, jgreenaway@stmarytx.edu; St. Mary’s University

 

 

Saturday 7:30-9:00pm

Reception: Westin, Ville Marie A

 

 

Sunday, September 18

8:00-9:30

Panel 13:  Reconsiderations of the Greeks

Chair: John von Heyking, vonheyking@uleth.ca; University of Lethbridge

 

Voegelin’s Unusual Account of Ancient Greek Anamnesis

Michael Nafi, John Abbott College

 

“Dialectic of the Cosmos and the Order of the Soul in Plato’s Laws,”

Mark Sinnett, Mark.Sinnett@sjc.edu, St. John’s College, Annapolis

 

“Plato’s Menexenus: Eulogy for the True Defender of the Polis

McPartland, T_mcpartland@msn.com, Kentucky State University

 

Plato on the Virtue of the Small Life

Thomas David Bunting, tbunting@wisc.edu; Shawnee State University

 

Discussants: John von Heyking, vonheyking@uleth.ca; University of Lethbridge

Barry Cooper, bcooper@calgary.edu; University of Calgary

The post 38th International Meeting of the Eric Voegelin Society appeared first on VoegelinView.

Originally appeared on VoegelinView Read More

More
articles

More
news